How could it be any other way?

May 12, 2010 | Wednesday

BITTERSWEET WOULD BE one way to describe today. I was at the cell door as Kevin walked by saying his last words to us all. Before he left, the grievance officer was coming in picking up grievance forms. Kevin called her and stated that he had a verbal grievance. “I have an execution scheduled today and am grieving against it.” Kevin thought that it was funny. Reminds me of last week, when an officer offered me a food tray with cold pancakes and Kevin laughed because I verbally refused the pancakes. Told the officer that I verbally refused his ugly face too. Sorry, but I hate pancakes.

Visits are something one would look forward to. The speaker crackled and advised me that I had a visit. Was waiting on this, actually. My Norma showed up. Awesome visit. It only seems that the visit was over in a flash! No good. The good feeling continues but dimmed after Norma left. I turned to catch a glimpse of Norma on her way out but instead caught sight of a mother speaking into a phone to her son (Kevin) who was only hours from what is likely happening right now, his execution. Executions are carried out at 6 p.m. I was captivated by Kevin’s mom as it was obvious that she was giving him all the strength that little woman had to offer. She walked away, tears streaming down her face. How could it be any other way? The strong bond between a mother and child is no less among us.

2 Responses to “How could it be any other way?”

  1. Kiki Says:

    Love is stronger than anything else….

    Love is patient; love is kind
    and envies no one.
    Love is never boastful, nor conceited, nor rude;
    never selfish, not quick to take offense.
    There is nothing love cannot face;
    there is no limit to its faith,
    its hope, and endurance.
    In a word, there are three things
    that last forever: faith, hope, and love;
    but the greatest of them all is love

    Love does not come to an end. (all from Bible)

  2. Jody Shaw Says:

    My heart aches and I can feel your words. My thoughts and prayers remainn with you…

Leave a Reply

