I need people to know my plight

April 21, 2010 | Wednesday

I AM SURPRISED at how quickly the Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles came to conduct my clemency hearing. It was only Monday that a ranking officer with TDCJ asked if I would want to speak to “the parole people.” This time around I said yes. I say “this time around” because I don’t know how many of you realize that this is my second execution date. Like the first, this execution date is very serious, indeed.

Before my first execution date I had basically thought that I should not beg for clemency when I could not even provide a shred of evidence to prove my innocence. Like so many years before, I would not be believed that overzealous government officials conspired to send me to prison for a crime I did not commit. I am getting sick in my stomach to think of it even now and my nerves are trying to spasm.

My legal team somehow came across documents to substantiate what I have said for years. A miracle happened. I got a stay of execution. Now, more evidence is coming to light that proves my innocence, yet here I sit, awaiting execution. When this ranking officer asked if I would want to speak to the parole people, I said I would. I need people to know my plight.

The clemency hearing was held where I was questioned about my crimes. A clemency hearing — I’m sure that you may get thoughts of a courtroom setting, like idea with an impartial authority figure attempting to make sense of who and what my case is about. The authority figure would file a report about all the circumstances surrounding my case and present this to the governor and the Texas Board of Pardons and Parole. Not so. It was unlike that at all.

What my clemency hearing consisted of was two parole officers who interviewed me for an hour. And they hardly seemed prepared for what they encountered. One of the parole officers seemed interested in what I had to say. The other, however, was more intent on establishing my admission to a criminal past. I have never proclaimed to have been an angel. My teenage years are riddled with infractions ranging from truancy to misdemeanor assault and possession of stolen properly. Needless to say, I was in and out of reform school. I readily admit my past. Mine is not the story of a bad upbringing and life of crime that led me to murder, though. My story is that of an ignorant teenager with a criminal past that was exploited by a state investigator, prosecutor and judge. This is what I have struggled for years to establish and prove, although recently more evidence and individuals are coming to light that will help me prove my innocence. The state clemency process as you may believe it to be is non-existent. It is a farce and you as a taxpayer should know, and I whose life is made almost meaningless by this process stand in witness, horrified but strong in my resolve that the judge, Hon. Ronald M Yeager, will look more closely at his newly discovered evidence and issue a stay of execution for that purpose.

4 Responses to “I need people to know my plight”

  1. Alex walsh Says:

    I pray that truth will be made clear to all.
    May God’s Mercy be with you, Rog.
    alex

  2. Norma Says:

    To all those that are taking the time to read these blogs, thank you. It may be difficult, under the currrent circumstances, for Rogelio to thank each of you personally. Please know that Rogelio does receive copies of your comments, and he appreciates your support. Please continue to check in, comment, and pass the word. Thank you for your prayers and well wishes.

  3. Françoise Says:

    This evening, dear Roy, I will pray for the Hon. Ronald M Yeager : may God assist him, and make him pay his best attention to all documents and new evidence submitted to him, so that, with courage, he will take the good decision, for the Sake of Justice.

    Un forte abbraccio and warm thoughts.
    Françoise

  4. Angelisae Says:

    Hopefully Uncle they clear your name and let you out clean. I wish my mom and me can see you and talk to you. From your nephew Angelisae (son of paty from California)

Leave a Reply

