Waking up to my mom’s voice

April 12, 2005 | Monday

I WOKE UP this morning to a voice asking me if I was going to go out and stretch in the “outside” recreation area. Was I surprised? Definitely. I splashed cold water on my face, brushed my teeth and stretched myself, then folded my mattress so that I could stop on it to peek out through the back wall window slit. I found fog hugging the ground and flashing lights out on the street. Keep in mind that it was roughly 6 in the morning, on a Monday.

The flashing lights were on a school bus waiting for students to board. I was reminded of school days. Mornings, waking up to my mom’s voice saying something in the distance and dozing back to sleep. My mother waking me again. Having to get up and splashing cold water on my face to force myself awake. Getting dressed, lying somewhere and dozing back to sleep. My mother shaking me awake again and guiding me to the door where she could give me my bendicion. I was still young enough to kiss my mom without being embarrassed (I was my momma’s boy) and off to school I would go. I’ve forgotten my brothers up to this point. Why? Sibling rivalry, maybe? Mom said get up! ROGEELIIIOOO! Rogelio is my given name. That’s me, Cowboy Roy. Yee-haw!

One Response to “Waking up to my mom’s voice”

  1. Kiki Says:

    🙂

Leave a Reply

