I can’t rest because I’ve got things on my mind

Venice Skyline by Rogelio Reyes Cannady

December 25, 2009 | Christmas Day | 1:15 a.m.

THE SLOT HAS just been shut and in my hands I have an apple and orange. Merry Christmas. Feliz Navidad and Joyeux Noël. Breakfast will be here in another two hours or so, but for some reason, we were just woken up and given our Xmas fruit. Guess I will rest now. No, I can’t rest because I’ve got things on my mind, but I’ll choose to concentrate on my loved ones foremost. And, well, I have some painting to do to. Join me? OK, I’ll admit something: I am anxious to paint. I have a drawing board, have made brushes and mashed colors into paint. I am debating on what to paint. I’ll do a second edition of my third attempt at painting; it’s the “Venice Skyline” at sunrise. I should admit something else: Although it may be my initial attempts at painting, I have been drawing, on and off, for years. I hope this next one does not embarrass me.

December 25 | Christmas Day | 7:30 a.m.

WELL, HOW AM I going to do this?! I’ve already set up shop! This table is too small to work on, so I have cleared off my bunk and have organized my paints, which I mashed and put in (cut out) milk containers. My brushes are ready to go and the drawing board is prepped and ready. I have decided to do the “Venice Skyline” using techniques I’ve learned from this book and from the mistakes of my first examples.

The sky and water below should be first, but before that, I need to sketch the cityscape on the drawing board so that I have some thing to work on. OK. The sketch is done.

Everybody is beginning to wake up. And the cold Christmas trays are about to be passed out. What’s a cold tray? Well, on Thanksgiving and Christmas, we are fed better and two trays are required for this purpose. The cold tray will contain . . . I’ll describe it when it arrives, so excuse me a few minutes while I communicate with somebody special .. writing someone.

9 a.m.

THE COLD TRAY? A piece of strawberry cake, piece of chocolate cake, apple cobbler, peach cobbler. Three sweet pickles and five black olives. The “hot tray” is yet to come and before that I should spread some paint on this board. The sky is first. Beginning with the rising sun… No, that’s wrong. The sky does come first. Then the sun…

2:20 p.m.

THE HOT TRAY came and went! It put me down for the 10-count. Knocked out! Ha Ha. The hot tray consisted of a slice of brisket, BBQ hot link, stuffing with gravy, potato salad, corn and beans. Can’t wait for next year to come around! Well, I also got the sky, sun and the city (generally) painted on the drawing board. The paintbrushes have worked surprisingly well. Who would have thought?!

How is your Christmas? Hope your is enjoyable. Merry Christmas, once again. Smile. OK, now I should concentrate on painting or I will never get done! You judge the result. My friend Juan will be the owner, if he accepts it! Hope your new year is a prosperous one. Happy New Year!

5 Responses to “I can’t rest because I’ve got things on my mind”

  1. Isabelle Says:

    C’est magnifique, Rogelio ! I look at your painting and admire the result of your ingenuity, your talent. It was great following you as you progressed towards this Venice Skyline. Congratulations ! You really did very well in expressing the mood and colours of this unique city.

  2. Françoise Says:

    Es verdaderamente muy, muy bello, querido Roy.
    Se diría que estabas allí, sobre una escalera frente a Santa María della Salute, esperando para que la puesta del sol te reúnas. Bravo, querido Roy.

    I Soy de vuelta! Te escribiré más largamente
    Un fuerte abrazo, Chesca
    (This Spanish comes directly from an online Translating link.
    “Il fuerte abrazo” is all from me and very sincere.)
    Always with you, every day, in my thoughts, even if it does not seem.

  3. Corina Says:

    Your painting looks very good. Keep at it.
    I also want to say thank you, Rogelio, for writing my mom and sending her cards. She needed a lot of support and help while she was/is in the hospital. She will be home on Feb.1st, so that will be a new phase. Please continue to write to her, she enjoys it.
    Thank you Rogelio
    Keep the faith, sending you positive thoughts, Corina

  4. David Says:

    Thank you for your writings. I’m from Finland and I’ve been following your writings so long. First time I write here comment. 🙂
    I need to tell you that the painting was awesome, U really are big talent.

    I pray and hope all the best to you.
    Hopefully u will get out of there some day.

    With you 4-ever
    David

  5. Tina Church Says:

    Th painting is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

