Life’s an amazing thing

Sunday, September 27, 2009 | 11:39 p.m.

WELL, ANOTHER DAY is almost past, but before I close my eyes and drift off, I thought to write about something that has been on my mind lately. It’s about life’s purpose. I could have jumped blindly into a choice of belief, although I thought and considered that leap to soar and not fall flat on my face. This has happened before and it was after a very different time of my life and because of my circumstances. When this came about, I turned my eyes to religion, naturally, but I had fallen so far away from God and doubted that he existed. I won’t get too deep with this but these days I find myself wondering about life’s purpose. Life is an amazing thing. My eyes are getting heavy now and I am going to drift off. Creation or evolution? Hmmm.

2 Responses to “Life’s an amazing thing”

  1. Petra Says:

    I’m really glad that you’re writing again. I missed you’re blogs. I’d like to know everything about what it’s like to live on death row. In you’re previous blogs you’d talk about guys who’d be executed. I would see them on the list but you talking about them gives me a face to a number. They are real and I get a better understanding of what it’s like. Not that I will ever fully understand, but I do try to imagine! Petra

  2. Barbro Linde Says:

    Hi again Ray! This day I reread what I read yesterday. I was thinking of how you were pondering the purpose of life. I realize that most of us do, one time or another, however our lifes turn out to be. I´m practicing buddhism, here in Sweden, and especially tibetan mahayana buddhism. There is a very high leader, a Karmapa, who is a refugee in India. One of the members of my association asked him, what is your opinion on the purpose of life? He hesitated a while, then this very young but wise looking guy, said ” maybe to ask oneself just that”… I was a bit taken aback, but pondering it, I feel it has some deep meaning. It´s probably just us humans who has got a mind able to reflect on things? That´s what you do! Keep up the good work,please. Barbro

Leave a Reply

