Christmas Card & Message From Rogelio

Rogelio has asked that I post this photo of three Christmas cards he chose to express to all his friends his gratitude for their support, and to wish them all a good Christmas. He has also asked that I post this message:

December 2000

Dear Readers/Friends:

Christmas is here! 🙂 I really hope that this letter arrives before Christmas Day and is read then. If so, ¡Feliz Navidad! Merry Christmas! If not, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and also hope for you a prosperous new year. Happy New Year!! It feels great to say that, and I truly hope your goals are realized next year.

For next year, I have a couple of goals that I would like to reach myself. My friend Isabelle has agreed to help get me through a paralegal correspondence course, and we have a personal project that we want to focus on. I have my own legal concerns that I should concentrate on, and I am very optimistic about my future.

I’ve decided to live my life more fully: exercise, clean, read, concentrate on those who support and care about me. Unfortunately, it will be at the expense of this journal. I have been asked and encouraged by several of you to keep writing. However, I am just not into it anymore. It’s taken a toll on me. And I no longer am on Death Watch, so the title is outdated also.

I just want to say that it’s been real, and that I never imagined how many of you would be reading my words. That still surprises me.

I would like to ask you to plant a tree, any tree that you feel symbolizes a part of me. More important, I would like to ask you to seek out a child in need, to our society; it’s in them that our future lies.

Thank you for walking with me all these days.

Roy 

Christmas card from Rogelio

Christmas card from Rogelio

10 Responses to “Christmas Card & Message From Rogelio”

  1. Isabelle Says:

    Feliz Navidad to you, dear Buddy ! My best wishes are with you always. You will be very close to us all on Christmas Eve and on Christmas Day at Chesca’s 🙂 There is that special candle whose flame is shining just for you on our Christmas tree. Much love and cariño from la familia en Suiza.

  2. K Says:

    “Christmas gift suggestions for everyone:
    To your enemy, forgiveness.
    To an opponent, tolerance.
    To a friend, your heart.
    To a customer, service.
    To all, charity.
    To every child, a good example.
    To yourself, respect. ”

    Roy, may your heart be filled with loving thoughts, love, hope……stay strong….

    FELIZ NAVIDAD!

  3. Françoise Says:

    Dear Roy,
    I would like to thank you from the deep of my heart for all that you gave us and shared with us during those last four months. It has been a strange, rich, terrible, moving, extra-ordinary, warm and friendly “adventure” and experience for most of us. I am convinced that no one of us will be the same at the end of it.
    Thank you for your kind and timely wishes. As I can read, the next year will be very busy and full of important challenges. I sincerely wish you all the best and that you will reach the aim you decided to. Besides, I am totally sure you will succeed!
    Now, you must recover your strength… to better jump. This last month must have been very difficult. You got a stay, that’s true. But after all the stress, sufferings, fear you were subjected to since end of August – and even more -, the after-effects must be severe.
    We will not end thinking of you. Around the chalet, in a nice place, we too will plant Your tree. Always in thoughts with you, we wish you, dear Roy a very Happy and successful New Year. With your friends’ and God’s help, May your dearest wishes come true. Fanfan

  4. Rhianon Says:

    Roy, i am missing you so much, sending you all of my love today and allways. Love you, your rhianon. Xx

  5. palcf Says:

    Dear Roy,
    Im very happy to read your message! Me sumo a tus propósitos 😉
    I will write you soon. Lots of love!!!!
    Tu amiga,
    Paloma

  6. Brenda Says:

    Dear Rogelio

    I have, since October, been following your journal and am very sorry you have chosen not to continue – but fully understand it must have taken it’s toll on you. It was so harrowing (and inspiring) to read of your days leading up to what you might have thought were your last.

    I too am from New Zealand (lived in Houston TX for a year) and by now you know that your journal captured so many of us around the world. It gave us all so much to think about – humanity, cruelty, but we also witnessed amazing reserves of strength, compassion and forgiveness. It made a lot of us question “what if one of our loved ones were in your situation?” and also question “how would we feel if we were one of the victims families?”. Do we have it in us to forgive? Would we really want to see someone die for their actions – would it give us the peace we are seeking? Does someone have the capacity to fully rehabilitate, and change their fundamental beliefs? How can we know exactly who has that capability?

    Big questions. Rogelio, thank you is not enough. We are so grateful to have been allowed an insight into your life. We will find some way to continue following your progress, we congratulate you on your stay and wish you the very best in your paralegal course.

    Brenda
    New Zealand

  7. Carmen Says:

    Feliz Navidad, Amigo! I am writing this from the Pittsburgh Airport on my way to Nevada. Letter is on its way with more information.
    Have wonderful holidays and know that your are thought of. As always, con mucho carino! Carmen

  8. Corrine Says:

    Hello and Merry Christmas to you. Thank you for allowing me to share your world for a short time. I am sure you know what an impact it has had around the world and it has inspired many, including me. My own hope for the future is that the abolitionists achieve their goal in ridding the USA of an inherently broken system. I also wish you luck and hope 2009 is a good year for you – just because you will no longer write will not stop us thinking about you and taking all the action that we can to help. Once again, thank you for sharing your world.

  9. Liz Lopez Says:

    Thank you very much for all the insight as to what is going on inside of prison. I can imagine your days are busy what with being enclosed in a cell for 23 hours a day.

  10. Angelica Elizondo Says:

    Hi Roy

    I don’t know if you remember me, but my sister Raquel Elizondo and I were new to the niehborhood. We did not have any friends and you were very nice and kind to us and became our friend. I started going out with your brother Bobby and you fell in love with my sister even though she was too young for you. We had a lot of fun with you when we were young, I wish we could go back to that time. Do you remember when we went X-mas caroling(singing)? I hope you can remeber and I wish you the best for 2009.

Leave a Reply

