Will Rogelio’s journal continue?

Several people have asked if Rogelio will continue writing his journal now that he has a stay of execution. I do not know. It will be up to him. As long as he wants to continue writing and sending it to me, I will continue posting his entries. — JRP

8 Responses to “Will Rogelio’s journal continue?”

  1. alisha Says:

    Will Rogelio stay where he currently is? or will he be transferred to another facility?

  2. Blixer Says:

    I have a question about the death penalty. I may sound harsh and cruel, but please hear me out. To put somebody to death is a waste of a human life, why can’t the convicted person’s organs be harvested for transplantation? If the state feels that it is necessary to kill somebody, why not use the organs to alleviate the suffering of ill people? At least some good will come from another sensless killing.

  3. Jaska Says:

    I hope that this brave man will continue sharing his experiences and feelings with the world. His blog has opened many people’s eyes to see that the death penalty is only the worst kind of injustice and cruelty. Where is the justification for any state to deliberately kill anyone who is already imprisoned and thus no longer a danger for society? Research shows that the absence or presence of the death penalty has no effect on murder rates in different US states. So it doesn’t protect the society nor does it prevent homicides from happening. Again, where is the justification for this brutality? Murders are usually committed in a state of different mental disorders, rage, jealousy and other negative feelings that causes the guilty person not to think clearly. This doesn’t ever justify killing anyone, that’s for sure. But still I have to ask: What murder is as well-planned, pre-meditated, clinically committed and cold-blooded as an execution carried out by state officials who don’t even have any personal ties to the executed person? And how many innocent people have been executed over the years? I don’t even want to think about that. Somebody serving a life sentence can at least be freed and compensated if later found not guilty.

    To Rogelio if you have the chance to read this: I admire your courage and I hope that justice prevails and your execution will ultimately be cancelled. But if you have to take the final walk to the chamber, hold your head up high and proud. You have the moral superiority. You have repented from your wrong-doings and this sentence can’t be justified by any means. You will walk besides God in heaven. I will pray for God’s blessings to you. I will also pray for forgiveness to those who are about to commit this horrible crime.

  4. deathwatchjournal Says:

    Alisha: Although he is no longer in the Death Watch portion of the Polunsky Unit’s Death Row section, he will remain on Death Row.

  5. Françoise Says:

    Thanks, Jaska. This is a exactly what needed to be written here: clear, documented… and kind

  6. Michele Says:

    Blixer the question shouldn’t be doing good from anothers death but the fact that we shouldn’t be conducting executions at all.

    I am fortunate that I live in a country that does not impose the death penalty but I am a member of the global community and will continue to work towards the total abolishment of the death penalty.

    To Rogelio

    I hope that you continue to share your life with us through this blog. I’m sure I’m not alone in saying that reading your words has opened me up to a whole other world, and by giving your situation a human presence it just may change some peoples point of view.

    Take care

  7. Isabelle Says:

    Dearest Rogelio, tomorrow November 30 will be the day of Cities for Life, Cities against Death penalty. In 600 cities all over the world public buildings or monuments will be illuminated to say “N0” to death penalty. In my town, Fribourg, we celebrated this important day today. And tonight our City Hall, an ancient house, was beautifully illuminated while part of the Messiah from Handel was being played and peaceful images and words projected against its old walls. People stood in the town square holding a candle that warm their hands in the cold night, some saying a prayer or just reflecting on the cause of death penalty, thinking of you all. You and your friends on death row, on death watch were definitely there with us. Several people who wrote to and for you send their best wishes and hope you are staying strong. I will send you pictures and post photos on the blog too. Yes, Buddy, you were definitely very close to us tonight.

  8. Kiki Says:

    I didn’t know about that celebration Cities for Life/Cities against Death…. I shiver with feelings about what you wrote, Isabelle. I have been part of the Messiah celebration a few times myself and I would have loved to be part of this great day….
    Love
    Kiki

Leave a Reply

