Rogelio gets a stay of execution!

I just learned that a judge this morning granted Rogelio a stay of execution until March 2009! His family and Isabelle are either in Livingston or on their way there to visit him. — Juan

34 Responses to “Rogelio gets a stay of execution!”

  1. Carmen Says:

    Gracias a Dios. I do not have words for it now. It is just wonderful. Thank you so much.
    Carmen

  2. Christiane Bitz Says:

    I have no word to express what I feel right now…
    Thank you Juan to let us know the very good news !
    I was just thinking of Isabelle on visit with Rogelio and I have lighted a candle of HOPE for Rogelio in a little church of Switzerland.
    We will always keep HOPE for the life of Roy
    Love
    Christiane

  3. Art Taylor Says:

    Hello Roy
    Thank God for this blessing I don’t have the words to express how I am feeling right now. Thank you Juan for giving all the true believers the good news. We will continue to pray for Roy and his family and give God the praise and glory. Just stay strong Roy and God will guide through this journey you are traveling. Your friend in Christ
    Art

  4. Petra Says:

    That is so wonderful. I found this site last night and I was up til 3 in the morning reading anything I could find on Rogelio. You are in my thoughts.
    Petra

  5. Gilles Says:

    Fantastic news, one less that Death will NOT get this week!

    Please act in favour of all 5 others who are scheduled to be executed in Texas, Ohio, Kentucky, and Florida this week!

    Gilles

  6. corina Says:

    Thank you Jesus!! I have been praying so much to hear this. And now I’m working on joining some groups to make a change. Thank you, Tio and Rogelio and Isabelle, for opening my eyes and heart to this issue. C

  7. Françoise Says:

    “Gracias a Dios.
    I have no word to express what I feel right now…
    Thank God for this blessing
    That is so wonderful.
    Fantastic news, one less that Death will NOT get this week!
    I have been praying so much to hear this.”

    I wasn’t able to find my own words, You already said everything! So I stole those words from you all (hi… hi… hi…)

  8. Rhianon Says:

    Thank god!!!! !!!! I love you so much roy. Mwah, your rhianon. Xx

  9. Valérie ROCHERON Says:

    I’m so happy, I can’t believe it! Last week, I went to the church praying for the stay…If you have any contact with Rogelio, tell him we are all supporting him.

  10. Lucky Says:

    I told you. Never give up. Never ever.

    Dank sei Gott dem Herrn.

    God bless you.

    Jesus loves you.

    Roy, nobody can imagine your feelings now.

    I will tell this good message everybody.

    Lucky 🙂

  11. Marianne Rasmussen Says:

    Miracles do happen, even in Texas. THANK GOD!! I don’t have words to express the relief I feel for you and your loved ones! A letter is on its way to you first thing in the morning!! 🙂 So, I guess this means I get to hang out with you for a while, huh? Looking forward to that! Vaja con Dios!
    Love, Marianne.

  12. Clare Egan Says:

    This is wonderful news. I read about this journal in the paper in Australia, and I have been following it ever since.
    Hearing that you have a stay has made me cry, I am so happy for you! Execution is an injustice, and even against those who are most hideously guilty. Two wrongs never make a right.
    I shall be thinking of you.
    Clare.
    (melb, aus).

  13. Andie Turmine Says:

    This is wonderful news and instantly brought tears to my eyes.
    I have been praying for this since I first read your journal…

    Much love to your family and dear friends…and of course to you Rogelio
    xx Andie (Adelaide Australia)

  14. Al Says:

    Well, let’s see what happens in March. I hope this stay can lead to something more than a simple delay.

  15. Erika Says:

    Hooray! What excellent news! Sending you hugs and cheers from Mexico, Rogelio. Let’s use this extra time to make some permanent, positive change for you and for everyone in this immoral and unjustifiable position.

  16. Michele Says:

    What a blessing. Every sunrise brings renewed hope. I cannot begin to imagine your relief but I share your joy.

    We will continue the fight

    Michele
    (NSW Australia)

  17. Trish Taylor Says:

    Woooooooooooooooooooo!!!! Hooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!
    Dear Rogelio
    I am so very very happy for you. Like others I have been following this blog since I read about it in the New Zealand paper last week. I am so so so very happy for you and your loved ones. Rhianon you must be over the moon. Faith goes a very long way my dear.
    Now the way is clear to fight for the right to be removed from death row altogether, you shouldn’t be there for defending yourself!!!! Fight with all your might now you have the chance too.
    Will be following this blog all the time now as I would like to see something good come out of everyone’s hard hard work.
    Bye for today, God Bless, keep smiling like you will be now. Smell, fart cough, laugh and do all the things you thought were about to be taken away from you. Trish, Auckland, New Zealand

  18. Natasha Says:

    I am just delighted with the news! Sending you warm greetings from Canada, with thanks for sharing your experiences with us all. I have long been an opponent of the death penalty, sending appeals to American government officials to end the barbaric practice. It is so rewarding to read of good news like yours! Blessings!

  19. Krystal Says:

    This is fantastic news we all must continue to pray.

  20. shoves Says:

    Oh My WORD!!!!

    God is good and he answers prayers!!!
    Your Faith has brought you thus far! Keep on believing in God!

    I said it before and i’ll say it again, with God, nothing is impossible 🙂

    God bless!

    shoves
    (Cape Town – RSA)

  21. Julia Says:

    I have no words to explain what I feel right now…I am sooo happy. Now we have the chance to get to know each other much better the next time.

  22. Kalia Says:

    I have been reading your blog for a couple weeks now and was VERY happy to read the great news this morning about your stay =)

  23. Gudula Says:

    I am very glad and relieved with the good news. I wrote a letter to the Board of Pardon and Paroles as many other supporters did too. My opinion is that we should also express our appreciation and gratefulness (not only to the spiritual world) when something positive occurs. Maybe Juan can tell me the direction of the judge who has granted Rogelio a stay? I would like to write a short note expressing my appreciation of his decision.
    Rogelio, another letter will be on its way to you soon; I am looking forward to hearing from you.
    Gudula

  24. Josh Says:

    I wonder if the family that Moreno ripped apart with his murder feels the same way as everyone here? And you talk of God, but where are your prayers for the family or the man that lost his life? You speak of writing letters to the judge thanking him, but were are your letters to the family expressing your sorrow for the horrible act that Moreno committed? God is to the only judge in this world and murder is a mortal sin. Moreno broke the most holy of laws and for that God will judge him accordingly.

  25. Dee Says:

    I can’t help but agree with Josh. I’m against the death penalty but if thats wot America sees as the right punishment for a murderer, then why are we happy that he gets off?

    Ive written this before and Ill write it again. It’s good that Rogelio is writing this blog but i cant help but wonder about the murdered people’s families. It doesn’t seem fair that their murderer gets away from being completely punished as per the law in America.

    Congratulations on getting what you wanted.

    I feel conflicted. On the one hand I’m extremely glad you didn’t get killed because I am against the death penalty but on the other hand, thats what your country sees as the right punishment and you got off from that…..i just dont knw wot 2 think….

  26. Andie Says:

    In regards to Dee’s comment:
    He’s not being released, he has received a stay, he is still incarcerated and therefore still being punished for the crimes he committed. He may still have to face this very same situation again in March. What is being said, is that we don’t want to see Rogelio or anyone for that matter, executed. (Just as a note, not all states of America have the death penalty)

  27. Kati Bishop Says:

    wow that is awesome news. im so happy for you and your family. Ive been reading your journal for about a week from Australia and I was really hoping you would get a stay. Now with a new president America might finally work their S@#$ out and abolish the death penalty (heres hoping). Thanks for sharing your experiences with us all. Its been incredibly eye opening and moving. Ill be thinking of you over christmas.
    Kati
    Melbourne Australia

  28. Corrine Says:

    Fantastic News! Which, on my part, led me into a good while of hysteria during which I wanted to tell everyone I knew – but can still only imagine what it must have felt like for you. Congratulations to everyone who played a part and let’s hope this luck continues – never give up. I only hope this is the start of abolishment. Please do continue to share your experiences and thoughts with us all – we are all there with you.

  29. K Says:

    Wonderful news.

  30. Diana Says:

    Wonderful news! Stay strong Rogelio, there are so many of us out here pulling for you. Remember that during the tough times. ((hug))

  31. sabrina Says:

    Hey roy it is me sabrina my mommy told me about the good news everything will be good for you everybody needs a second chances la baby girl sabrina

  32. Athina Says:

    JUST PERFECT!!!!!I’m really happy!!!!I hope they will give you grace and you live forever 🙂 Sometimes there is justice!

    A huge hug and many kisses from Greece,Rogelio :)))))

  33. Isabelle Says:

    Hello dearest Buddy 🙂 I am back home, my heart a lot lighter ! Wasn’t that absolutely great to meet again and especially to be able to trace those letters on the window between us : YATS ! Your questioning and hopeful look and more letters and so many smiles then between the three of us; happy tears too. So happy to be there with your sister, then meet your familia. Unforgettable moments. Too short a visit as you well know but then what a wonderful news to share. I hope you are doing well, dear Roy, staying strong and hopeful for the months to come. We’ll never give up, won’t we ? I am so grateful to those who defended your case with great commitment, thankful to all who supported and encouraged you. Thank you, merci, gracias, danke.

  34. Françoise Says:

    Fantastic having Isabelle back home and telling us – almost – everything about her visit (especially about the “dramatic effect” caused by the new appearance of your grown beard…).
    I am so happy for you, for your family. We all had such a weight on the heart. Of course, nothing is settled yet but hope is still there, strong; and this period which was granted to you will allow the “Hebrew slaves” to work a lot, again. Thank to them.
    With much love to you. Un abbraccio forte

Leave a Reply

