To Forgive

(Isabelle asked that I post this poem. Given the cruelty that is taking place inside the prison walls at Polunsky and other units, and the inhumanity of the judicial system, I suppose we all need to learn how to be better forgivers. — JRP)

 

Those who forgive are the healers of humanity.

Rather than turning over offence or harm,

Rather than dreaming of revenge,

They stop the evil to themselves,

They exhaust its venom.

 

Although they could keep their fists clenched,

They open generous hands.

Deep in their heart sorrow and rancor end up overwhelmed by kindness.

 

Forgiveness is the most powerful action a man can fulfill.

The event that could have been the cause of an increasing brutality in the world,              helps the growing of love.

 

People who know how to forgive transform their own wounds.

There, where they are, they heal the wound that disfigured the face of humanity since its origins: violence.

 

The man who forgives resembles Jesus.

 

The man who forgives makes God present. 

  

       Gérard Bessière (Prier avec les mots de tous les jours)

 

5 Responses to “To Forgive”

  1. Frank Says:

    Have you forgiven those who have sentenced you to death?

    Will God be present in your moment of forgiveness?

  2. Nic Says:

    Rogelio

    I just wanted to say that your words have opened my eyes. My regret is that I didn’t find your site until just recently. I am from Sydney, Australia, and as such have not had to deal with situations involving the death penalty. It has always intrigued me as to what goes on in the minds of those that believe in an eye for an eye, and now i finally get to hear what it is like for someone in your situation. As I said, you have opened my eyes to another aspect of what life is. And if you can touch someones heart across the other side of the world, then you have truly made a difference in this world.

    I thank you from the bottom of my heart, and wish you all the best and pray that the legal system will come to its senses.

    Your new friend from Australia
    Nic

  3. Lucky Says:

    Hello my friend,

    I recieved your letter before yesterday. Thank you very much. Last night I answered. It is on the way now.

    I hope that you will get a stay. I hope that Texas will stop all death penalty. Let us pray for Governor, politicians, for judge, for hangmen that they will change their consciousness.
    Men who show clemency are real patriots. Let us pray that they open their hearts.
    America, come back down and rescue and save human life again.

    Roy, forgive them because they don´t know what they do.
    Many people are signing yor petition. Let us hope.
    Never give up.
    God bless you.

    I hope that I receive your letters in future. 🙂

    Best regards,

    your penpal Lucky

  4. Blixer Says:

    I come from a country with crime stats that would give the average American nightmares, but I would like to ask you, why do you deserve mercy, when your victums found none? I do not think it is fair that you should live, while you took the lives of others. I do not wish to condemm your eternal soul to damnation, but I wish for you to find peace with your maker.

  5. Françoise Says:

    We should never, never forget that our God is a God of Love and Forgiveness and not of No Mercy and Revenge. Noble thoughts and good feelings allow us to elevate our spirit and soul… and feel happy. Bad thoughts, revenge desires are weighing heavily in our Karma… But every single one of us, we have an unfortunate tendency to forget it in our everyday life. Me the first!
    Well, does it sound like moralizing comments? I hope not, it is how I think.

Leave a Reply

