Rogelio, Artist 1

Ann and Paloma have written about Rogelio’s use of art in his correspondence. Here are examples of his work. They are the front and back of a Christmas post card he sent me. The face he uses here is similar to the emoticons he uses in his correspondence. The caption for the cartoon in the second image reads, “Just walking in your neighborhood.” Note the bar code on the left, with his TDCJ number.

–JRP

4 Responses to “Rogelio, Artist 1”

  1. Isabelle Says:

    How I recognize this writing ! The joy of opening my mailbox in the garden and find a letter from you, Rogelio. Some days I open it right away. At other times I make a pause in my day to sit and read your mail. Always with the same pleasure and gratitude. Those little faces are there grinning, looking furious or sad, confused or sleepy, always there adding a certain feeling to your words. How I enjoy reading you, Buddy !

  2. Marianne Rasmussen Says:

    Although I’m only just getting to know you, Rogelio, I recognise the lines and feel amazed at the reserves of strength and positive energies you are still able to share with the friends who have known you many years as well as new friends. I thank you for letting me become part of your life, too! Marianne

  3. Rhianon Says:

    Roy, I read your journal everyday, just want to tell you that you mean everything to me and I love you so very much. Rhianon. xx

  4. Françoise Says:

    Well, maybe with a longer leg?
    Don’t even try, I am joking.

    Con carissimi saluti e baci

Leave a Reply

