Letter from Rogelio, Sept. 22

Today I received a letter from Rogelio. Written in Spanish on Sept. 18, he says he had yet to receive the letter that included copies I made of the individual blog pages. “There is a damn devil (guard) reviewing my mail, and he or she is taking her or his time. It’s not as if I have all the time in the world, but that doesn’t seem to matter to these animals.”

He also writes: “Yesterday, the state executed my neighbor, and I spend my time thinking of what awaits me. Who knows. I do keep thinking positive thoughts, but I feel bad for Scooter’s family, and I feel anger at the injustice of how the death penalty is applied.”

He enclosed an articled about Mark Sanchez, the USC quarterback, who fascinates him, as a football star and as a Mexican American. And, of course, he talks enthusiastically about “Los Vaqueros,” — the Dallas Cowboys and the good season they are having so far. Just writing about the Cowboys, he says, lifts his spirits.

He also asked if I could send him some books he read about in USA TODAY: Sway, The Irresistible Pull of Irrational Behavior, by Ori and Rom Brafman, and Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our decisions, by Dan Ariely. 

He writes: “Juan, I know that you tell me that my journal writings are strong and that they have a way of moving people, but because I’m not out there, I cannot see that. If 300 people read my words on the second day and then they didn’t come back, is it possible that they lost interest, or will they come back later to see if there are more postings?”

He promises more journal entries will arrive soon. (As I have explained elsewhere, he writes his journal longhand. What I had not explained is that he then makes a copy, again writing it longhand, to mail to me.)

JRP

One Response to “Letter from Rogelio, Sept. 22”

  1. Françoise Casanova Says:

    … “It’s not as if I have all the time in the world” … “Anger and injustice”

    The reading of Rogelio’s September 18th letter is emotionally charged.
    After every new Rogelio’s entry, we can feel nearer from him. As I already said, as Juan says, his writing is strong and “efficient”: each word reaches the target.
    What I admire, too, with Roy is his capacty of being so positive and feel compassion: in his so grave situation, he is still thinking of other people’s pain!
    YOU are making us stronger and braver Roy!
    Françoise and the same

Leave a Reply

